how long is the florida boating course

by Milton Rolfson 5 min read

How long does the Florida boating license take?

The boater education certificate proves that you completed an approved boater safety course. Your permanent Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card will arrive 3–4 weeks after successfully completing this course.

How Long Does Florida boating license last?

90 daysAbout Your Certification This certificate EXPIRES 90 days after course completion.

How many questions is the Florida boaters exam?

The exam consists of 60 multiple choice questions.

Is a boating license required in Florida?

While Florida does not have a boating license, anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 is required to either have successfully completed a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved boating education course or have passed an equivalent course or temporary certificate examination.

How much is a boat license in Florida?

How much does it cost to get my Florida Temporary Boating Certificate? The total cost is $9.99. This includes $3.00 for the exam fee and $6.99 for access to study material and unlimited exam attempts.

What is required to have on a boat in Florida?

All vessels are required to have onboard a wearable USCG-approved personal flotation device (PFD) for each person. The PFDs must be of the appropriate size for the intended wearer, be in serviceable condition, and within easy access. The state of Florida urges all people onboard a boat to wear a life jacket.

How do you get boaters license in Florida?

To get your Boater Education Card, you will need to complete an approved boater education course in Florida. The course must be approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC). Your other option is to pass an approved equivalency test.Mar 10, 2021

How many chapters are in Florida boating course?

The boat safety course manual consists of five chapters packed with boating tips along with the nautical rules of the road.

Do you need a boating license in Florida for a jet ski?

Anyone born on or after January 1st, 1988 is required by law to have a boating license permit to operate a personal watercraft in the state of Florida.

Can you drink on a boat in Florida?

Under Florida drinking and boating laws, it is not against the law to have an open container on a boat (unlike in the car), but the intoxication levels are the same. Operating a boat while under the impairment or influence of alcohol is a big no-no, and can cause massive fines and jail time.Sep 2, 2021

Can anyone drive a boat in Florida?

Do I need a license? In order to operate a motorboat of ten (10) horsepower or greater, Florida law requires anyone who was born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 to successfully complete an approved boating safety course and obtain a Boating Safety Education Identification Card issued by the FWC.

Do you need insurance for a boat in Florida?

Boat insurance isn't legally required in Florida, but that doesn't make it ok for Florida boaters to skip coverage. If it would be painful to replace your boat out-of-pocket, you should probably insure it. Homeowners insurance probably doesn't cover your boat or the resulting medical bills if anyone is injured.

How much does the Florida iLearnToBoat Course cost?

The Florida iLearnToBoat Course fee is $54.95.

Do you need Florida Boating education?

You need boating education in Florida if you were born on or after January 1, 1988, and you will be operating a motorized boat of 10 hp or more.

Are there any age or operator restrictions for boating in Florida?

See the restrictions here.

What is the minimum age to take this online course?

There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.

Do I have to be a resident to take the Florida iLearnToBoat Course?

You do not have to be a resident of Florida to take this online course.

Is the Florida iLearnToBoat Course approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission?

The Florida iLearnToBoat Course is approved and accepted by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

Is my Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card accepted elsewhere?

For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Plea...

Do I have to take an online exam?

The Final Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 80% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts t...

What is the proof of online Florida iLearnToBoat Course completion?

Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print out the Temporary Boater Education Certificate. This is your pro...

How to get a boating license?

Operators are exempt from needing to get their boating license if they are: 1 Licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel 2 Operating on a private lake or pond 3 Accompanied on board by a person who is exempt from the education requirement or by a person who is at least 18 years old, possesses the required identification cards, and is attendant to the operation of the vessel and responsible for any violation that occurs 4 Operating a vessel within 90 days after purchase and have a bill of sale on board and available for inspection

What is a Florida boater's license?

Card (often referred to as "Florida boating License" or "Florida Boater Education Card") is proof that you have successfully completed all state-mandated boater education requirements.

How old do you have to be to operate a boat in Florida?

No one under the age of 14 years may operate a personal watercraft (PWC) on Florida waters at any time, even if such person possesses a Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card.

How long does it take to complete a boater education?

When you combine interactive learning with no minimum time requirement, it’s easy to understand why many of our students complete their boater education in under 3 hours !

Can you take the final exam for boating?

Learn and test your boating knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive course. Once you successfully guide your group to safety, you may take the final exam. You have multiple attempts to pass the final exam.

Is Ilearn Toboat a robot?

Your ilearn toboat course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

Online Courses

Florida Virtual School Outdoor Education Course: (Free for Florida residents ages 12 to 18.) The only course in the nation to combine both hunting and boating safety.

Florida Virtual School Outdoor Education Course

Florida Virtual School Outdoor Education Course: (Free for Florida residents ages 12 to 18.) The only course in the nation to combine both hunting and boating safety.